Digital Reads Reviews

This post contains affiliate links for products and services I recommend. If you make a purchase through those links, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

DRM Review Shots

Digital Reads Reviews is a blog-haven for book posts and tech tips. These are mini-reviews of books read over the last week.
Shalini
review shots
Good
3/5

Publication Date: July 2022

Book Links

As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through this link at no extra cost to you at the Kindle and Audible store.

My Review

A light summery read.
Pure escapism with apparently perfect characters in a setting filled with richness.
The story is predictable yet comforting in its prose.
It is filled with romance and drama with some secrets.
A lot of name-dropping, I skim read it to get to juicy parts.
An entertaining light romance for those who like a change of pace and genre
 

Blurb

By the sapphire blue waters of the French Riviera, a decades-long secret is about to be revealed…

Wayward Greek heiress, Ariana Theodosis, inherits the Hotel du Soleil as part of a mysterious legacy. Captivated by its faded glamour, she hopes it offers her the chance to start again.

Hotelier Gabriel du Lac’s family have owned the hotel for decades – and he has no intention of giving it up for a beautiful stranger.

Madame du Lac has watched the rich and famous pass through the doors of the hotel for almost half a century, and she has kept its secrets too.

As the past finally catches up with them all, will this summer reveal a forgotten secret, and change their lives forever…?
 
I liked it
4/5

Publication Date: May 2021

Book Links

As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through this link at no extra cost to you at the Kindle and Audible store.

My Review

An enjoyable read with magic and well developed world with interesting new concept.
Complex characterization where Romeria caught my eye as she tries her best to figure out things.
Romance is good. I don’t like too much of it overpowering the story, so this feels right.
I found the book to be really slow and too long. I need more of a personality from the characters to make me fall in love with them.
Will get to book2 soon 

Blurb

Gifted thief Romeria has flourished from her days as a street kid pilfering wallets to survive.
But when an enigmatic woman secures her services at swordpoint, Romeria is plunged into a startling realm of opposing thrones, warring elven, and elemental magic she cannot begin to fathom.
Her quest is straightforward: Steal a stone from Islor’s sacred garden without anyone discovering her true identity, which would earn her certain death.
Her betrothed, the newly crowned King Zander, detests her with every grain of his handsome being.
Fortunately for Romeria, she is more valuable to him alive than dead. Zander gives her a choice: life in a cell, or an acquittal of all charges in exchange for her help in exposing the growing plot against him.
As she digs deeper into this sacred garden and the ancient feud between Ybaris and Islor, she discovers monstrous truths that could spell ruin for all.
Okay
3/5

Publication Date: November 2019

Book Links

As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through this link at no extra cost to you at the Kindle and Audible store.

My Review

I found this difficult to get through as the main character Iris was too prickly and given to instant judgments.

The hero was good as he showed the patience of a saint. Would love to meet such a man in real life.

This was one fast read with constant tug-of-war created by Iris and her insecure emotions

Blurb

Iris Brown is doing her best to single-handedly raise her beautiful two-year-old daughter, Paola. But when Sergio, Paola’s father, a dashing-but-arrogant Spanish businessman comes back on the scene, everyone’s lives are thrown into chaos.

Fearing he may take Paola away from her, Iris must decide what’s best for her and her daughter, and whether she can ever trust Sergio again. No matter how irresistible she may find him.

He broke her heart once. Will he do it again?

Nice
3.5/5

Publication Date: July 2022

Book Links

As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through this link at no extra cost to you at the Kindle and Audible store.

My Review

Rose returns home after escaping an abusive father for her friend’s Maggie’s wedding.
To her shock, the groom is someone she has had a one night stand with a year back. And she is extremely attracted to the best man.
I enjoyed reading the story. Rose’s connection with her family after reconciling with past is sweet. The family drama is nicely written.
I like that Rose is honest and tells Maggie the truth of her night of debauchery. Though she does take her time about it. 
Romance is done well, though it feels a little too fast.
Strength after abuse and finding oneself is the core of this book, all wrapped up in a nice, little romance.

Blurb

Growing up, Rose fled her family home–and a dangerous father–vowing never to return.

But Rose is back in Carmel, California, with two goals: to joyfully act as maid of honor for her best-friend-forever Maggie and to reunite and rebuild her relationships with her mother and sister.

But when Maggie excitedly introduces her to Marc, Rose is horrified. He’s the man Rose spent one lust-fueled but disastrous night with a year ago.

To complicate the situation, Rose makes an instant connection with Gray, Marc’s best man and cousin.

And as the big day approaches, the secret weighs heavy upon Rose.

Should she tell Maggie and Gray the truth and risk losing them?

Meh
2/5

Publication Date: January 2022

Book Links

As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through this link at no extra cost to you at the Kindle and Audible store.

My Review

This was a slow read to begin with where Steph found herself at the end of marriage with the husband suddenly accusing her of infidelity (Imagine that! After 30 years!!)

Creepy stuff started to occur which caused her to find a lodger. But things got worse. IT was atmospheric when the author brought fear into play, giving the story an edge.

I couldn’t connect to the characters, and the book needed more oomph as nothing much really happened and the character kept making not-so-intelligent decisions.
An okay read.

Blurb

Ever since Steph’s husband walked out after a thirty-year marriage, home hasn’t felt like a safe haven. Steph knows that the noises in the night, the open windows she knows she left closed, the strange smell in the kitchen – none of it feels right.

Then her house is broken into, and a young man named Noah helps her fix the front window.

Before long Noah is living in Bea’s old bedroom, paying rent, and getting his life back on track. Steph’s ex-husband and Bea are furious. But Steph feels secure at last.

Until the strange things start happening once more. Until it becomes clear someone will stop at nothing to make her never, ever feel safe again.

Good
3/5

Publication Date: August 2021

Book Links

As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through this link at no extra cost to you at the Kindle and Audible store.

My Review

A cute no-angst love story that begins with an emotional twist.
 
I like the main character Sarah as she shows determination even when thrown into the deep end. 
 
The characters are cute, but there are not enough subplots to show how they will react in different situations.
 
The story is fast paced and engrossing. At less than 150 pages it is a two hour read.
 
A book I will recommend when you don’t want something deeply emotional 

Blurb

Woken in the middle of the night by the horrific news that her estranged sister has been killed in a fatal car crash, Sophie abruptly finds herself guardian to a niece, Alana, she never knew existed. 
 
The baby gives Sophie a way to cope with her grief, and a new focus to her life, but the unexpected appearance of Samson, Alana’s father, wanting his daughter to now live with him, threatens to destroy Sophie’s newly formed family.
 
Can Sophie and the seemingly feckless Samson, reach a compromise, or will Sophie be forced to give up her sister’s baby? 
 
Sweet
3/5

Publication Date: August 2021

Book Links

As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases made through this link at no extra cost to you at the Kindle and Audible store.

My Review

A cozy investigation done by Eva when a dead body was found in the alley behind her bed and breakfast.
The book is more about friendship and book club rather than hard core investigation of crime thrillers.
There is a sweetness in the writing with overall camaraderie. Hints of romance is also given.
Less than 200pages, it is a fun book to read between intense ones
A mood changer

Blurb

Eva Stewart runs a charming bed and breakfast in the Florida Keys with her talkative parrot.
One of her favorite things to do is read murder mystery novels. She even has a murder mystery book club.
When a dead body is found near the bed and breakfast, Eva has a real murder mystery on her hands.
Can she help solve the mystery, or will her book smarts be the end of her?
 

I downloaded the digital version of the book from an online retail, and this is my journey down its pages, straight from the heart. STRICTLY HONEST and UNBIASED.

If you’ve loved the review, buy me a cuppa to perk me up.

Check out my other posts here

Stay Connected

Follow Digital Reads Media on WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

August – September giveaway 

Amazon GC$5 for 2 winners

Click the rafflecopter here

Pre-made book covers and trailers

This is an affiliate link

VBD COVERS

Click here

Destiny is super sweet and professional and with just a mail you would get the cover you want. 

Digital Reads Media/ Reviews blog is featured on 

KINDLEPRENEUR

New Books Alert

Click on the cover

chew
Only $0.99

Authors, if you would like to have your books mentioned in my newsletter and post, kindly contact me here.

If, after subscribing to my newsletter, you would like to put your books for review, then the link is here

Send me the details of your book so that I could have them on the sidebar and in my newsletter

Subscribe to my Newsletter

READERS

  • Get my interesting posts directly into your inbox
  • New releases and books on sale along with giveaways
  • Book Tours and Review options
  • Monthly random giveaways
  • August – September giveaway – Amazon GC$5 for 2 winners

AUTHORS

If you want your books/sales promoted, subscribe to my NL

Before you go, subscribe to the newsletter

August – September giveaway – 2 Amazon GC$5

%d bloggers like this: